Year in Review: Top 10 Concerts of 2007

2007 year in review

With 2007 coming to a close, I thought I'd take a look back at a selection of some of the best and most memorable events from the past twelve months. Overall, the year was marked with more concerts, new venues, and bigger bands for a fast schedule that topped out at 41 concerts and two festivals. Here's my top-1o list for 2007, in chronological order, for the year's best events.

Red Hot Chili Peppers @ Scottrade Center — 2007.01.15

Right out of the gates, 2007 started out big, with an arena performance by the Red Hot Chili Peppers and Gnarls Barkley. It would have been hard to plan a bigger start to the year, and the bands did not disappoint. This was also the first opportunity I had to shoot at the Scottrade Center Arena. While the lighting was pretty static for this show, I had a great time shooting nonetheless.

Red Hot Chili Peppers @ the Scottrade Center

The Scissor Sisters @ The Pageant — 2007.03.12

Jake Shears and crew put on an electric performance that had me sprinting to keep up. Despite a stage crowded with speaker monitors, this show was an absolute blast to photograph thanks to the high energy of the performers and crowd alike.

The Scissor Sisters @ the Pageant -- 2007.03.12

Morrissey @ the Pageant — 2007.05.22

Seeing Moz at the fantastic Pageant venue was a treat in itself, but to see him performing on his birthday of all dates pushed the event to the next level. Crowd members showered the former-Smiths frontman with presents, cards, and flowers, and Morrissey loved it all. (Read the write-up)

Morrissey @ the Pageant -- 2007.05.22

The Police @ the Scottrade Center — 2007.06.02

The day before this show, my editor called me and asked, “Do you want to photograph the Police?” As far as I'm concerned, there's only one proper answer to that question. The show itself was excellent, with brilliant backlighting and a seemingly exuberant performance by Sting and the rest of the band. (Read the write-up)

The Police @ the Scottrade Center -- 2007.06.02

The Pitchfork Music Festival 2007 — 2007.07.14-16

This year's Pitchfork Festival was bigger, dustier, and louder than the last. Despite technical difficulties and awkward performance by bands not well suited to festivals, the event brought together an impressive lineup for the weekend. Aside from great sets by Junior Boys, Jamie Lidell, Of Montreal, and De La Soul, Battles, Clipse, and Cat Power, I always find festivals a fun time to meet other concert photographers, and P4k 07 was no exception. (Read the write-ups: Saturday, Sunday)

Iron & Wine @ Pitchfork 2007

The Polyphonic Spree @ the Pageant — 2007.08.04

Choral Symphonic Rock – there isn't too much more to say, except that the Polyphonic Spree, all several dozen of them, brought the circus to town with their show at the Pageant. Tim DeLaughter was a great subject and I would highly recommend this show to any rock photographers out there. Between the over-sized performance and theatrics, this was simply a winning show. (Read the write-up)

The Polyphonic Spree @ the Pageant -- 2007.08.04

Rilo Kiley @ Jesse Auditorum — 2007.09.12

The opportunity to photograph indie rock darlings Rilo Kiley was a great opportunity, and doing so for the entire show is even better. Due to a spontaneous decision by the crowd to follow my example and rush the during the first opening act, the three-song limit went out the window and I snapped Jenny Lewis and Blake Sennett throughout their epic hour and a half performance. (Read the write-up)

Rilo Kiley @ Jesse Auditorum -- 2007.09.12

Bloc Party @ the Pageant — 2007.09.14

Despite very challenging lighting, Bloc Party's put on a great set, powered by Kele Okereke's driving vocals and Matt Tong's constant barrage of beats from his kit. I'd love the opportunity to photograph these guys again, especially under different lighting schemes. (Read the write-up)

Bloc Party @ the Pageant -- 2007.09.14

Ted Leo & the Pharmacists @ the Gargoyle — 2007.10.10

Ted Leo and friends threw down a furious set at the small Gargoyle for one of the year's best shows, which just goes that the bigger venues don't always mean the best events. Crowding into the cave-like basement venue, we were treated to a no frills throw down that was all punk rock as Ted Leo ripped through his set double-time, often gasping for breath in between songs. The Gargoyle is an awful place for concert photography, but shooting aside, I loved this performance through and through. (Read the write-up)

Ted Leo & the Pharmacists @ the Gargoyle -- 2007.10.10

VHS or Beta @ the Blender Theatre — 2007.11.16

This show in NYC's Blender Theatre was a fantastic event all around. From the great house lights to the rocking band, the show was also an opportunity to shoot alongside my brother and fell concert photog, Chris Owyoung. The lights were hot, the band was on, and the brothers Owyoung rocked it. (Read the write-up)

VHS or Beta @ the Blender Theatre -- 2007.11.16

Semi Precious Weapons @ Cicero's — 2007.11.30

I think I could easily let the below image speak for itself, or simply say, “If they're playing a gig near you, do not miss.” Still, even that might not be enough, so I should reiterate the core message of the write-up: Semi Precious Weapons may very well put on the most rock ‘n roll show touring today. Not only are these boys a blast to shoot visually, but the music will have you rocking in your silver stiletto heeled boots all night long; I sincerely hope they're coming to a venue near you in 2008. (Read the write-up)

Semi Precious Weapons @ Cicero's -- 2007.11.30

Runners-Up:

  • The Shins @ the Pageant — 2007.02.11
  • The Faint @ the Pageant  — 2007.03.15
  • Lupe Fiasco @ Webster — 2007.04.20
  • The National @ the Duckroom — 2007.06.11
  • Common @ the Pageant — 2007.09.19
  • Twilight Sad @ the Billiken Club — 2007.10.05

My Camera DSLR and Lenses for Concert Photography

Nikon Z 7:
I use two Nikon Z 7 for my live music photography. A true do-it-all mirrorless camera with amazing AF, great speed and fantastic resolution.

nikon-24-70mm-f28-lens-square

Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8S:
The 24-70mm is my go-to lens. The range is ideal for stage front photography and the image quality is superb.

Nikon-70-200-square

Nikon 70-200mm f/2.8 VR:
A perfect pair to the Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8, I can basically shoot any job with the midrange and this lens. Superb image quality.

nikon-14-24mm-f28-lens-square

Nikon 14-24mm f/2.8:
Ultra-wide perspective, ridiculously sharp even wide open at f/2.8. I love using this lens up-close and personal, where it excels.

See My Full Kit for Concert Photography

Help Support www.ishootshows.com

If this article or any other content on www.ishootshows.com was helpful to you, please consider supporting this site and grabbing your next photo gear purchase through one of my affiliate links:

Simply clicking through any product links on this site helps me bring you free content like the photography tips and gear reviews regularly posted on www.ishootshows.com, and naturally it doesn't cost you a cent more.